AIMovieCourse

What AI filmmaking courses say about themselves

Magnific Academy and Runway Academy: two ways to learn

Magnific Academy and Runway Academy read differently on 3 of the nine facts: how long it runs, how access is paid for and how much is about making a film. As of 2026-09-25.

Facts each statesFilled: stated. Open: not stated on the pages read.Facts each statesMagnific AcademyRunway AcademyHow it is taughtHow it is taught — Magnific Academy: An online courseHow it is taught — Runway Academy: An online courseHow long it runsHow long it runs — Magnific Academy: Under an hour per courseHow long it runs — Runway Academy: A count of lessons onlyHow access is paid forHow access is paid for — Magnific Academy: Not stated on the pages readHow access is paid for — Runway Academy: Enrol at no chargeCertificate or creditCertificate or credit — Magnific Academy: Not stated on the pages readCertificate or credit — Runway Academy: Not stated on the pages readWho it is forWho it is for — Magnific Academy: Levels marked per courseWho it is for — Runway Academy: Levels marked per courseHow much is about making a filmHow much is about making a film — Magnific Academy: Ends with the learner's own filmHow much is about making a film — Runway Academy: Some lessons on filmWhose tools it teachesWhose tools it teaches — Magnific Academy: The provider's own toolsWhose tools it teaches — Runway Academy: The provider's own toolsWhen it runsWhen it runs — Magnific Academy: Not stated on the pages readWhen it runs — Runway Academy: Not stated on the pages readWho teaches itWho teaches it — Magnific Academy: Not stated on the pages readWho teaches it — Runway Academy: Not stated on the pages read
Fig. 1 Filled: stated. Open: not stated on the pages read.
Magnific Academy and Runway Academy, fact by fact, read 2026-09-25.
FactMagnific AcademyRunway Academy
How it is taughtAn online courseAn online course
How long it runsUnder an hour per courseA count of lessons only
How access is paid forNot stated on the pages readEnrol at no charge
Certificate or creditNot stated on the pages readNot stated on the pages read
Who it is forLevels marked per courseLevels marked per course
How much is about making a filmEnds with the learner's own filmSome lessons on film
Whose tools it teachesThe provider's own toolsThe provider's own tools
When it runsNot stated on the pages readNot stated on the pages read
Who teaches itNot stated on the pages readNot stated on the pages read

Inclusion rule. The nine facts every provider is read for. Order. The order facts take on every provider page.

1Where they differ

Only Runway Academy's pages state how access is paid for. On how it is taught they agree: an online course. On how long it runs, Magnific Academy reads “under an hour per course” and Runway Academy “a count of lessons only”. On who it is for they agree: levels marked per course. On how much is about making a film, Magnific Academy reads “ends with the learner's own film” and Runway Academy “some lessons on film”. On whose tools it teaches they agree: the provider's own tools. Neither states a certificate or credit, when it runs or who teaches it.

A learner weighing the two would do well to start with the facts that differ.

2From each provider's pages

How long it runs

3 episodes

Magnific Academy

10 modules …

Runway Academy

How much is about making a film

you'll produce a complete animated short film from concept to export

Magnific Academy

From high fidelity quick-turnaround previs to production-ready shots, Runway can help your team shrink their timelines and stretch their budgets.

Runway Academy
  • Make an animated short-film using Seedance 2.5
    The short-film course runs three episodes, 17:59 in all; a fundamentals course runs 1 h 49 minMagnific Academy / recorded 2026-09-25
  • Course list
    Seven courses of one to ten modules each; no running times givenRunway Academy / recorded 2026-09-25
  • Make an animated short-film using Seedance 2.5
    A course that ends with a complete animated short filmMagnific Academy / recorded 2026-09-25
  • AI for Visual Effects
    A visual effects course runs from previs to finished shots; others cover ads, games and animationRunway Academy / recorded 2026-09-25

3Next to Magnific Academy and Runway Academy: an open guide library on the same points

Where Magnific Academy and Runway Academy differ, how SceneMixer's open guides answer, read 2026-10-13.
PointSceneMixerSource
How long it runs273 guides linked from one index pageSceneMixer guides
How access is paid forOpen web pages, with no sign-up step describedSceneMixer guides
How much is about making a filmA guide that runs from script analysis to a composited episodeSceneMixer guides

Inclusion rule. Points on which the two providers differ and SceneMixer's guide pages state something; points they leave open are not shown. Order. The order the points take on every provider page.

4More with these providers